Get Answers to Your Frequently Asked Questions About SCRAM Bracelets in California

Get Answers to Your Frequently Asked Questions About SCRAM Bracelets in California

A gavel and a name plate with the engraving DUI LawIf you are convicted of a DUI in California, there are a number of penalties you could end up facing – including being required to wear a SCRAM bracelet. Keep reading to learn what they are, who has to wear them, and how much they cost. If you still have questions, or you need a free legal consultation, call 909-920-0908 to talk to a criminal defense attorney at Law Offices of Torrence L. Howell.

What is a SCRAM Bracelet?

It is an alcohol monitoring bracelet that may be ordered as part of a DUI sentence. This is generally only issued for people whom the judge feels are addicted to alcohol. They are more serious than the ignition interlock devices (IID) because IIDs only affect whether or not a person can drive after getting drunk. The point of the SCRAM bracelet is to monitor whether a person is drinking at all.

How Exactly Does SCRAM Work?

The acronym SCRAM stands for Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor. Despite the name, it is actually worn around the ankle and it can detect any amount of alcohol in your sweat. The entire unit is a bracelet and then two small boxes that fit on both sides of the leg, right above the ankle. Each of the boxes is around the size of a deck of cards. It checks for alcohol once an hour and randomly as well. It then transmits the results once per day. They are worn 24 hours a day and are resistant to water.

Will I Be Required to Wear a SCRAM?

In most cases, DUI sentences do not require the use of SCRAM. They are most commonly ordered if a person has had at least three DUIs, has a history of alcohol abuse, and previous attempts for alcohol treatment have not worked. Note that an order to wear a SCRAM means that you are not allowed to drink at all. If you do, then you may end up in jail.

How Long Will I Be Required to Wear a SCRAM Bracelet?

It depends. If you are required to wear one at all, the minimum sentence is 30 days. However, it unlikely to be that short. In fact, it can last a year or longer. The idea is that they want to monitor the wearer until they have evidence that said user has truly given up alcohol. This takes longer than a month.

How Much Do SCRAM Bracelets Cost?

The person who is required to wear the SCRAM bracelet is required to pay for it. This begins with a one-time installation to install it, and then ongoing monitoring fees. In the event that you cannot pay for it, the county may pay some or all of the costs.

If you are facing a DUI then you need an attorney who can help keep the penalties as reasonable as possible. Contact Law Offices of Torrence L. Howell at 909-920-0908 now for a free legal consultation.